A third of babies are fat

And not just in that cute, chubby sort of way.

Almost one-third of 9-month-olds are obese or overweight, as are 34 percent of 2-year-olds, according to the research, which looked at a nationally representative sample of children born in 2001. The study is one of the first to measure weight in the same group of very young children over time, said lead researcher Brian Moss, a sociologist at Wayne State University in Detroit. The results showed that starting out heavy puts kids on a trajectory to stay that way.

“If you were overweight at nine months old, it really kind of sets the stage for you to remain overweight at two years,” Moss told LiveScience.

Michelle Obama’s child nutrition act looks better and better every single day. But maybe we should be listening to the conservatives, no? Perhaps for the WIC program, we could allow mother’s to buy their kids soda and candy. It’s all about liberty! after all, right?

6 comments on “A third of babies are fat

  1. The WIC program is already heavily regulated as far as what they can buy. Obviously that is having a great effect.

    Also how much soda and candy do you really think they are eating between birth and 9 months?

    Who is it that decided what over weight is anyway? Who decided where you go from heavy to fat?

    Let me tell you, I am very nearly over weight! I am 5′ 7″ and about 160 pounds. The charts say I shouldn’t be that heavy! OH NOES!

    I can assure you over here in reality I am not overweight.

    I know there are kids and adults who are grossly overweight. With that said it may be the definition that calls me overweight that takes the focus off of what the real problem is. The people that are really overweight, not people like me who have never had a doctor say I needed even to lose one pound.

  2. No, you are just too short for your weight. Obesity is a serious problem In the US. Education about it is sufficient. Darwinian selection will cull those who ignore it.

  3. I’m not too short for my weight. I gained 15 pounds after joining the army. The extraordinary amount of physical exertion tends to add weight rather than remove it, at least in the long term.

    The definition is adjusted to provide the statistics desired. I’m not saying we don’t have an obesity issue I’m saying that it not likely to be as bad as projected.

  4. How can a baby get too fat if it’s basically just eating mother’s milk? I don’t think a third of babies are pigging out on doritos and chocolate bars…

  5. Just as a point of interest.

    My 2 year old niece has spent those 2 years having everything from Doritos to chocolate bars being shoved down her throat in a frivolous attempt to get her to gain weight.

    Veggies and mothers milk wouldn’t even get her up near where her “proper” weight was.

    (it wasn’t really doritos and chocolate bars, but it sounds better than what she was really being ‘force fed’)

Leave a Reply

